College basketball: 20 players named to 2018 Jerry West Award watch list

October 18, 2017 - Basketballs

SPRINGFIELD, Mass.  The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced currently a 20 watch list members for a 2018 Jerry West Shooting Guard of a Year Award. Named after Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, a annual respect in a fourth year recognizes a tip sharpened guards in Division we men’s college basketball. A inhabitant cabinet comprised of tip college basketball crew dynamic a watch list of 20 candidates.

“Jerry West is one of a best sharpened guards to ever play a diversion and by distant one of a many rival personalities in a diversion as well,” pronounced John L. Doleva, boss and CEO of a Basketball Hall of Fame. “These twenty collegiate athletes have worked tirelessly to acquire their spots on this watch list and have shown identical work ethics and skills as a venerable Jerry West.”

Jerry West attended West Virginia University and averaged 24.8 points and 13.3 rebounds per diversion in his 3 varsity seasons. He led his group to a NCAA championship diversion in 1959 and was named a accord All-American in 1959 and 1960. In a summer of 1960, he was co-captain of a U.S. men’s basketball group and won an Olympic bullion medal. As a veteran player, West played 14 seasons in a NBA with a Lakers creation a All-NBA First Team 10 times. West won an NBA championship in 1972 and was named a NBA Finals MVP in 1969 notwithstanding his group not winning a championship. In 1996, he was named a member of a NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

MORE: Bob Cousy Award watch list for tip indicate guard

“Now in a fourth year, this award’s cabinet ceaselessly compiles a list of a best sharpened guards in collegiate basketball,” pronounced Jerry West, a 1979 inductee of a Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “It is truly an respect be compared with this endowment and we am looking brazen to saying a turn of competitiveness and talent any of these possibilities exhibits this arriving season.”

By mid-February, a watch list of 20 players for a 2018 Jerry West Shooting Guard of a Year Award will be narrowed to only 10. In March, 5 finalists will be presented to Mr. West and a Hall of Fame’s preference committee. The leader of a 2018 Jerry West Award will be presented during a ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, Apr 6, 2018. Broadcast information will be expelled during a after date.

Previous winners of a Jerry West Shooting Guard of a Year Award embody Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).

Here are a 20 preseason possibilities for the 2018 Jerry West Award: 


source ⦿

More basketballs ...

› tags: Basketballs /